nature lovin’ dresser

We recently came across a very damaged and orphaned dresser that we adopted despite our better judgement.  The back supports were replaced and the pressboard primed.  The exterior of the dresser received several coats of primer but the scars remained.  It was clear that this particular dresser was never going to be an elegant accoutrement to a lady’s boudoir.  It could, however, make a decidedly fun addition to an upcycling hippie’s closet.

The drawers were papered with pages from a proof copy of a nature book I wrote for middle-graders, and some vintage drawer pulls were added.  After that, I opened the paints and let them do as they will.

IMG_7434      IMG_7436

 

The result is a decidedly girly hippie dresser that brings a smile to my face.  I look forward to waking up in my little house in the woods and seeing this message cheerfully welcoming the day:

IMG_7433

One thought on “nature lovin’ dresser

  1. awww-thank you for such a sweet comment at my blog-it means a lot to me!!! I LOVE your denim coat, doily cover-up and the painted dresser & little curio cabinet. Wow-you are a wonderful artist! 🙂

Leave a Reply

